Each of our rooms are specially designed to ensure your children have the best possible experience.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) has been mandatory from September 2008 for all registered providers working with children from birth to five years.

At the heart of the EYFS is the principle, “Every child is a competent learner from birth, who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured” Department for Education and Skills.

There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS which are:

Key Person

We use the Key Person approach to form a base of loving and secure relationships, along with a Buddy system. We work in partnership with parents, carers and other professionals making links which support experiences and learning within the community.



Bishopswood Day Nursery follows a safeguarding policy to protect the children in our care. We are committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children. The nursery has a duty to report any safeguarding concerns regarding the children in this setting to the Oxfordshire Safeguarding Children Board.


Diverse Learning

Babies and young children learn from active play and exploration. The environment we provide, both indoors and outdoors, offers a range of such experiences and diverse learning.

At Bishopswood we believe that all children are valued and have their individual abilities and learning needs catered for.


We have a Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator (SENCO) that can liaise with parents and carers should you have any concerns regarding your child’s development. We follow the SEND code of practice and can refer your child to other professionals if needed. 

Babies from 6 weeks to walking.
Toddlers from walking to 23 months
Toddlers 24 months to 29/30 months
Children from 29/30 months to 3 years
Children from 3 years to school age.